Wine Review: Alto Cinco Garnacha

Alto Cinco Garnacha

2011 Alto Cinco Garnacha

This past weekend, I looked through my wines and decided to open a bottle of 2011 Alto Cinco Garnacha. This isn’t a wine that I would normally go out and purchase (I think I received it as a gift), but I was willing to give it a try. You should always be open to trying new wines once, right?

Per Alto Cinco’s website, the name of the wine translates from Spanish as “high five,” with “high” referring to the height (Alto) of the vineyards and “five” to the growing area surrounding the village of Paniza.

This Spanish wine is a blend of 94% Garnacha and 6% Tempranillo. It’s a medium red color and has a fruity aroma. On the palate, the flavor matched the aroma. I tasted blackberry, cherry, raspberry and some oak flavors. This medium-bodied wine was smooth with balanced acidity. I didn’t think it was a dry wine, and I say that because I didn’t wake up the next morning with that cotton-mouth-like feeling that you normally taste with the higher tannin wines.

I drank this wine with turkey chili, which probably wasn’t the best pairing, but it was being served at our friend’s house so I wasn’t going to pass it up. The spiciness of the chili didn’t quite gel with the wine, but by themselves, both were good! I say that because I do want to be invited back to our friend’s house for more meals — she is a good cook!

I think a great food pairing for this wine would have been bruschetta. Personally, I could eat bruschetta every day of the week because I love bread that much. I use an easy recipe when making the appetizer (forgive me in advance for not having exact measurements).

Ingredients:

  • 1 loaf of French bread, sliced
  • Extra virgin olive oil, to drizzle
  • Bruschetta mix (I like to use a 12 oz. jar of HT Traders Bruschetta, but you’ll only need about 1/2 the jar)
  • Mozzarella cheese, shredded (optional)

Directions:

  1. Turn oven on at 300-degrees F.
  2. Lightly grease your cookie sheet with an Extra Virgin Olive Oil spray.
  3. Lay your slices of bread on your cookie sheet and drizzle with olive oil.
  4. Cook in the oven for 10 minutes (you may want to flip the bread halfway through).
  5. After 10 minutes, pull your bread out of the oven and add your bruschetta mix on top. If you want to sprinkle mozzarella cheese on top of your bruschetta do that as well and place back in the oven, but this time turn on the broiler for 2-3 minutes. Ovens may vary, so be sure to keep an eye on these the first time you try my directions!
  6. Remove and enjoy with a glass of Alto Cinco Garnacha.

Overall, the Alto Cinco Garnacha isn’t your big, bold cab, but I thought it was a decent wine for a $10-15 price point and I give it 3.5 stars.

5 responses to “Wine Review: Alto Cinco Garnacha

    • Wait till you see the crab cake recipe I used the other day…even better than the bruschetta. Although, you’re married to a chef so you probably get gourmet meals all the time! The wine is long gone!

  1. Great review and both Tempranillo and Garnacha (Grenache) are the two work horse grapes of Spain. If you are a fan of big bold spicy wines try either some Rioja Reservas or Ribera del Dueros… Both areas are primarily Tempranillo driven

Leave a Reply

