My Best Ever Crab Cakes

My Best Ever Crab Cake

My Best Ever Crab Cake

Most people who know me know that I’m no gourmet chef, but I have to take a moment to toot my own horn when it comes to a meal that I prepared last week. I found a recipe on Allrecipes.com for crab cakes, and I think my husband and I would agree that these were delicious.

View Recipe for Best Ever Crab Cakes

I did make some modifications to the recipe, which turned out to work in my favor. For ingredients, I used sweet onions instead of green onions; I used backfin crab meat (which is less money than lump crab meat, but tastes just as good); I used 1/2 a sleeve of Townhouse buttery crackers (approx. 1 cup); I also added Italian bread crumbs like what one of the reviewers mentioned; and I did not use butter.

Sonoma Cutrer

Sonoma Cutrer

For the directions, I mixed everything together in a bowl and let it sit in the refrigerator for 30 minutes. After that, I pulled the bowl out and formed 5 crab cakes from the mixture (these were quite large, so you could probably get 2-3 more cakes). After forming the cakes, I sprinkled Italian bread crumbs on them. I turned on the broiler at 500-degrees F and lightly greased a cookie sheet with extra virgin olive oil spray. I placed the crab cakes in the oven for 17 minutes, and after 10 minutes, I flipped them. The original recipe calls for pan frying the cakes, but the broiler was low maintenance and felt like a healthier alternative to pan frying in butter.

The only downfall of the meal was that I didn’t end up pairing it with a wine. It was Sunday and we were watching football, so I opted for Blue Moon Pumpkin Ale. If I were to re-create this meal again, and believe me I will, I would pair the crab cakes with a slightly oaky Chardonnay. I’m thinking Sonoma-Cutrer Sonoma Coast. Who’s with me?

Leave a Reply

