Wine Review: Bogle Phantom Will Haunt You (in a good way)

Bogle Phantom

Bogle Phantom

I’m a little late to the party on this next wine review, but I had family in town this past weekend so I put the blogging aside to spend time with the crew. Now that I’m back at it I wanted to recommend Bogle Vineyards Phantom, another seasonal wine worth trying.

I enjoyed a couple glasses of this wine the night of Halloween. Which reminds me, kids go trick-or-treating for the candy so wouldn’t it be great if adults could go trick-or-treating for samples of wine? This is the kind of stuff you think up when two hours have gone by and you’ve only had 20 trick-or-treaters come around. You’re also left with way too much candy to eat by yourself, but I digress.

Back to Bogle Phantom. I’ve had this wine before and it’s never failed me. Priced around $16-20, this red blend combines Zinfandel, Petit Sirah and Mourvèdre, producing the deep ruby red color in the process. Hints of blackberry and black cherry shine through on the nose and palate in the beginning, leading to a well-balanced finish of black pepper, tobacco and spicy oak. Have I mentioned just how much I love spicy wines? Yum!

Remember, this is a seasonal wine so it’s meant to be enjoyed in the Fall with hearty, filling meals. I’m thinking that a pot roast would be the perfect complement (this thought is coming from a non-beef eater).

So cheers to the ghost (think Casper the Friendly Ghost) of Fall and happy sipping!

2 responses to “Wine Review: Bogle Phantom Will Haunt You (in a good way)

  1. Holy my gosh! Just discovered this wine this evening – we ARE big beef-eaters, & this wine is out-frickin-standing with ANY “umami” meal. But yeah, esp. roasted or grilled beef.

Leave a Reply

