And the Best Thanksgiving Wine Goes to…

What wine pairs best with Thanksgiving turkey?

What wine pairs best with Thanksgiving turkey?

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays. You get to eat all the awesome food you want with family and friends, while pairing each course with yummy wine. It is a foodie’s dream!

I’m still not sure what wines I will be breaking out for this year’s meal, but I have a few ideas in mind. Here are some wines that could complement your turkey dinner…

Hogue Late Harvest Riesling, Columbia Valley, Washington
It’s been awhile since I’ve had this one, and to be honest, I really only drink Rieslings or Gewürztraminers on Thanksgiving Day since they pair so well with turkey. This particular Riesling is moderately sweet with aromas of orange, lemon-lime and peach. Crisp flavors of tangerine and apricot round out the palate. (Priced $9-$11)

Pacific Rim Sweet Riesling, Columbia Valley, Washington
I paired my Thanksgiving turkey with this moderately sweet Riesling last year and I think it was a hit with other people in my dinner crowd. I will admit that it’s kind of like drinking grape juice and it’s definitely a lighter wine, but the flavors of pineapple and peach go well with turkey — and actually, anything spicy. (Priced $9-$11)

Soléna Estate Grande Cuvée Pinot Noir, Willamette Valley, Oregon
If you’re not a fan of the sweet white wines like Riesling, you can opt for a Pinot Noir which is another great turkey pairing wine. I love the Grande Cuvée Pinot Noir from Soléna Estate in Oregon. This wine smells of sweet raspberries, chocolate, violets and tea leaves. It has great length and structure on the palate from the balance of tannins and acidity. Flavors of coconut, plum, leather and cherry cola linger on the finish. (Priced $24-$26)

Stoller Dundee Hills Pinot Noir, Willamette Valley, Oregon
Hailing from the same region as the Soléna Grande Cuvée Pinot Noir, the Stoller Pinot Noir is another one of my go-to Pinot Noirs. With fruity and floral aromas, in addition to spices of cinnamon and clove, the palate features red fruit flavors, bright acidity and medium tannins. (Priced $24-$26)

Click here to get a behind the scenes tour of Stoller Vineyards from fellow wine blogger, Grapefriend

So I’ve shared my Thanksgiving wine picks, now it’s time to share yours! What will you be having with your Thanksgiving meal?

3 responses to “And the Best Thanksgiving Wine Goes to…

Leave a Reply

