Post-Thanksgiving Recap: Gewürztraminer, Turkey and Tons of Pumpkin

I don’t know about you, but I ate way too much for my Thanksgiving celebration and I enjoyed every single pumpkin ginger cupcake I could get my hands on!

This year, I celebrated the holiday with a renewed interest in cooking up new recipes and my husband helped kick things off with a deliciously, moist, smoked turkey. This was a first for us because normally we deep fry or roast the bird. Let me tell you…smoking a turkey takes major dedication! He injected the 18 lb. turkey the night before with a concoction of melted butter, parsley, cumin, cinnamon, salt and pepper (there may have been other seasonings, but it was so off the cuff that this was all we could remember). He got up at 1am to put the turkey in the smoker, and it cooked until 2pm. See what I mean by dedication?

Starling Castle Gewurztraminer

Starling Castle

I paired the turkey with Starling Castle Gewürztraminer. A light, medium-sweet wine with flavors of orange, pear and cinnamon. I picked this lighter white wine for our guests over the La Crema Pinot Noir I had on hand, but in hindsight I wish I would have picked the Pinot. The Starling Castle wasn’t terrible, but I still love my reds. (Can’t wait to tell you about a Malbec I had the night before Thanksgiving!)

When it came to the dessert, I had that covered. I’m not a huge fan of pumpkin pie, so I opted to make a pumpkin cheesecake and pumpkin ginger cupcakes. Both were equally praised by guests and the recipes can be found below:

Pumpkin Cheesecake
Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

One note on the cupcakes, the recipe calls for crystallized ginger. I opted to leave that ingredient out because it’s not cheap. The cupcakes were still delish.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

I hope you enjoy these treats as much as we all did! Stay tuned for more holiday baking this month. I’ll be helping out as a guest blogger for 25 Days of Cookies!

2 responses to “Post-Thanksgiving Recap: Gewürztraminer, Turkey and Tons of Pumpkin

Leave a Reply

