25 Days of Cookies Guest Blog – Spreading the Joy of Baking

image

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

A week or two ago I was asked by a co-worker and his wife to participate as a guest baker and blogger on their blog called, “25 Days of Cookies.” This is the second year that their family is baking a new batch of cookies for each day between December 1-25 and sharing the cookie joy. This year, they asked for a few guest bloggers to bake along the way and I was honored to get the invite.

Click here to read my guest post and to get my grandmother’s recipe for Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies.

I’m happy to report that I will be following John and Beth’s lead and donating this batch of cookies to a Cookies for Cancer fundraiser this weekend which will be raising money for pediatric cancer research. Below are some details that were forwarded from a supporter of the event:

“Many of you know and have been praying for our sweet friend, Grier Christenbury, who sadly lost his 7 year battle with a rare form of cancer (neuroblastoma) last week. His life and his amazing mother’s determination to raise money and awareness for underfunded pediatric cancer research inspired the annual bake sale here in Charlotte.  I hope you will join me at the Cookies for Kids’ Cancer Bake sale this weekend to honor Grier and support the Christenbury family. The bake sale takes place at Blackhawk Hardware and 100% of the proceeds go to pediatric cancer research.  There will be over 50 local bakeries and over 100 home bakers at the bake sale – you just give what you can and take what you want! Please be a ‘Good Cookie’ and help make it the biggest bake sale yet!”

Learn more at http://www.charlottegoodcookies.com/dates–locations.html

Be sure to stay tuned to the blog next week as I debut another one of my grandmother’s unique cookie recipes!

By the way, Beth happened to ask me what wine I paired with my cookies, but I was sorry to disappoint…tonight was a no wine night! I was just trying to concentrate on getting my grandma’s recipe right considering it was the first time making the cookies. In my next baking session, I’ll be sure to add a wine to the mix!

Leave a Reply

