1,000 Views Thanks to You — Let’s Celebrate With a Wine Mashup

Good news to report! My blog reached a milestone today with 1,000 views in less than 3 months. I know it doesn’t sound like a lot to some of you other bloggers out there, but considering this is just a fun hobby, not my full-time job, I’m proud of the accomplishment and the fact that I’ve stuck with it.

In honor of this milestone, here is my wine mashup from the last couple weeks…

Tortoise Creek Zinfandel

Tortoise Creek Zinfandel

Tortoise Creek Wines 2011 Zinfandel “The Chelonian,” Lodi, California ($10-15)
A blend of 90% Zinfandel, 5% Tannat (I had to look this one up…a red wine grape historically grown in France), and 5% Petite Syrah, the tasting notes label this wine as having spicy, cherry aromas and sweet berry flavors. The finish includes vanilla and cinnamon toast. I definitely wasn’t a fan of this wine on the first night. It got a little better on the second night, but still not a favorite. I thought it was a lighter Zinfandel and not as full as I would have liked.

Luigi Bosca Malbec

Luigi Bosca Malbec

Luigi Bosca 2010 Malbec, Mendoza, Argentina ($15-20)
I opened up this wine the night before Thanksgiving, and I really enjoyed it (I think my mother-in-law liked it as well). This full-bodied wine started out with intense spice, ripe red fruit and black pepper flavors, but it had long, silky finish. I would recommend this wine without a second thought.

Saint Hilaire

Saint Hilaire

Saint-Hilaire 2011 Brut, France ($10-15)
My go-to bubbly has been LaMarca Prosecco for a couple years now, but the Saint-Hilaire is in the same price range and is a decent alternative. It’s a dry sparkling wine with flavors of green apple and pear. If you need a relatively inexpensive, nice tasting sparkling wine for your holiday celebration this could be it. In the next couple weeks, I’ll have some other bubbly recommendations just in time for the New Year.

Michael David Incognito Red Blend

Michael David Incognito Red Blend

Michael David 2010 Incognito Red Blend, Lodi, California ($18-22)
I saved the best for last. Once again, Michael David Winery solidifies its #1 spot atop my favorite wineries list for 2013. I was at a cookie exchange yesterday and a friend of mine opened a bottle of this for me to try. She’s been raving about it for awhile, but this wine has been hard to find in-store. Two words come to mind…spice and smoke. This is a big, bold blend with a smooth finish. I highly recommend this wine. Wait…I highly recommend any wine that comes out of this winery.

Thanks again for helping me get to 1,000 views! Looking forward to reaching the 5,000 views milestone next, and I hope that I provide you with valuable content along the way.

Cheers!

2 responses to “1,000 Views Thanks to You — Let’s Celebrate With a Wine Mashup

  1. Congratulations on your milestone! More importantly the fact that you are enjoying yourself. Thanks for the mash-ups I found them very helpful. Excited also to see Tannat blended in the Zinfandel even though it was not one of your favorites. I do not usually see that varietal used. Tannat and Zinfandel FAN here just not sure I’ve ever had them together 🙂
    Happy Holidays!

    • Thanks! I hadn’t heard of Tannat before this post, but I happened to be perusing the Michael David website and saw where they make a Tannat. I may have to find that one to try it. Happy holidays to you, too!

Leave a Reply

