Wine Review: Carnivor Cabernet Sauvignon and Estancia Sauvignon Blanc

As the title of this post suggests, I had two wines at completely opposite ends of the wine spectrum this week. I tried a new Cab that I’ve been wanting to review and a Sauvignon Blanc that I just happened to have in the fridge from a get-together this past weekend. Keep reading to get my thoughts on both…

I’ll start with the 2012 Estancia Monterey County Sauvignon Blanc. I opened this bottle for a get-together and when I looked in my fridge tonight I realized that I had some left so I decided to give it a try with my chicken stir-fry. I haven’t had Sauvignon Blanc in awhile, but I think it’s one of those varietals that has such a distinct tasting profile that I can always pick it out of a crowd without seeing the label.

20140114-213211.jpg

Pale straw in color, on the nose I smelled lemon-lime citrus and a grassy aroma that’s common in Sauvignon Blancs. I liken it to summer in a glass. On the palate, I tasted clean, refreshing citrus, lemon grass, and lots of acidity. Not really my winter drink of choice, I think this would be a decent everyday wine for summer. Drink immediately. (Price range $10-13)

Onto the Carnivor California Cabernet Sauvignon…this wine is targeted more to the male wine drinker who likes the big, bold California reds. This is not to say that women can’t be included in this target group, but in my experience more women lean towards the lighter, fruitier wines (I am NOT one of those women).

I had been waiting for weeks to taste and review this wine. I took it to a holiday party, but it never got opened. Then, I saw it at another holiday party, but by the time I was ready to try it there was not a drop in the bottle. Luckily, a guest brought it to our get-together this past weekend and I jumped on it right away!

20140114-214331.jpg

I’m glad that I finally got to experience this wine. It was deep, purple in color with notes of oak, chocolate and coffee. The finish was smooth and well structured. Good drink ability. I would recommend this wine as a nice alternative to the more expensive Napa Valley Cabs. (Price range $12-16)

Cheers!

4 responses to “Wine Review: Carnivor Cabernet Sauvignon and Estancia Sauvignon Blanc

  1. My roommate brought home much to my surprise, a bottle of carnivore Cabernet Sauvignon 2012 vintage. I was excited to try this wine I had never heard of . I enjoyed the wine so much that I decided to do a little research on it. I came across your review in buying to vine. Your review in and of itself was a little better than ordinary. But what really got my attention in your review, was a statement that you made about females drinking or preferring fruity light red wines. I am highly and when I say highly I mean HIGHLY offended by that ignorant statement.! shame on you , I had assumed that the article was written by a man and was even more offended to discover that it was written by a woman . You seriously sound like an idiot referring to this wine as a mans wine and should be banned from reviewing any wines in the future for this publication !

    • Hi Kristin- Glad you found my review on my blog, and I apologize that I offended you with my statement. This has just been my experience with my circle of girlfriends. I was actually one of those girls once upon a time, but my tastes have grown as I’ve experienced more wines. I know several women who love this wine since it’s been out on the market, and I know women who love big, bold cabs as well.

      Again, sorry that I offended you with that generalization in my post. I’m glad that my posts are being read and evaluated, even if there may be different opinions being discussed!

    • Kristin. I am highly offended by your offense to such a trivial event in life…. A wine review. Take a deep breath. Banned from future wine reviews????? Cmon. This is silly. Nice job @vine2vino.

  2. Hey Kristin,

    If you’re offended by a wine review on a WordPress blog, then you need to develop thicker skin and find something better to do with your time, and you obviously don’t have a man in your life.

Leave a Reply

